Volunteer with Community Futures Cowichan

At Community Futures Cowichan, we have supported economic development in the Cowichan Region since 1987. We help businesses start and expand and we get involved in economic and community development projects. As a not-for-profit corporation, our strength comes from our volunteer Board and Committees.

If you have a background or interest in small business development, finance, economic and social development OR if you care about helping create a bright economic future for our community, then we are looking for someone like you! Read our Board Recruitment Policy and complete our Application 

Contact Cathy Robertson, General Manager, at 250-746-1004 to discuss volunteer opportunities.

 2017 Volunteer of the Year - Ronnie Doman 

Ronnie first stepped up to volunteer with CF Cowichan in 2011, when he joined our Finance & Audit Committee.  A year later, he also volunteered on our Business Development Committee (BDC).

During these past few years, Ronnie has provided excellent guidance on both of these key CF Committees. In 2015, he stepped down from Finance & Audit to focus on the BDC. Ronnie has earned the respect and trust of his committee peers, as someone who thoroughly studies the financials and analyzes numbers. His insight and depth of questioning create valuable learning opportunities for staff. 

Ronnie is the Comptroller for Centurion Lumber, a third-generation family business. With over 18 years’ experience in public accounting as well as a local business owner for many years, both CF clients and our organization have benefitted from his volunteer contributions.

According to his wife Sharan, Ronnie enjoys using his skills and background to give back to the community -- helping business to build a community. He really enjoys working with the BDC and the people involved, and their combined commitment to make a difference.

Previous Members of the Year:

  • 2016 Mark Marcil
  • 2015 Bob Annis
  • 2014 Sheila Service
  • 2013 Mike Evans
  • 2012 Dave Jackson
  • 2011 Greg Clifford
  • 2010 Gordon Holyer
  • 2009 Geoff Millar
  • 2008 Tek Manhas
  • 2007 Doug Allan