Board & Committee Members

All Community Futures organizations are guided by a volunteer Board of Directors composed of local business people who bring with them extensive knowledge and experience of the area’s economy. Our Board members represent our region's population and main economic sectors. Their role is to establish our organization’s priorities, monitor our performance, and answer to key stakeholders.

Board Members

Janna Jorgensen - Board Chair

Janna is an organizational development consultant and facilitator with over a decade of experience working nationally and internationally with individuals, teams and organizations in the public, private, not-for-profit and governmental sectors. Janna specializes in leadership development, shared visioning, strategic planning, multi-agency collaboration, governance and action research.

Sarah Morden - Vice Chair

Sarah has a Masters in Public Administration and over 12 years of experience in the BC local government sector.  She currently works as a self-employed consultant with municipalities and regional districts throughout the province on a broad range of local initiatives and research projects.  

Bob Annis - Past Chair

Bob has a BA, an MA and a Ph.D., has published several reports and documents about social and economic issues facing rural Canadians, and served ten years as the Director of Brandon University’s Rural Development Institute. He has also served as a volunteer to numerous community organizations. In his spare time, Bob can likely be found boating around the Gulf Vancouver Islands.

Mike Evans - Finance & Audit Commitee Chair

Mike is a Principal of the Cowichan based firm Grant Thornton LLP with a Chartered Accountant designation.  He serves on both the Board of Directors and the Finance & Audit Committee.  When not in his suit and tie he is on his mountain biking gear on any of the local mountains.

Chris Davies

Chris is originally from the U.K. where he held senior positions with a Multi-National retail chain and owned several successful businesses. He is now a resident of the Cowichan Valley and owner of Mid-Island Ink Depot.  Chris’s retail experience along with running his own businesses enables him to offer a breadth of experience in the challenges and opportunities as an entrepreneur. The best employees he has ever had are Minnie and Katie… his dogs!

Victor Gamble

Born and raised in the Cowichan Valley, Victor is a Chartered Professional Accountant currently running his own accounting firm in Duncan with his son. He is an effective team builder and is known for mentoring juniors.  Victor volunteers at the Duncan Curling Club and has had much success at the provincial curling level. 

Moira Hauk - Business Development Committee Chair

Moira is the South Vancouver Island Regional Manager for Coastal Community Credit Union and is the leading edge of change in the banking industry in BC. With a career-long history as an active volunteer, Moira has held many community positions with emphasis on supporting local business.

Tek Manhas 

Tek has been a life-long resident of the Cowichan Valley. He is a graduate of Cowichan High School and SFU with a Business Admin degree. Tek has been employed in the private sector for over 25 years in various roles. He left his last position as a senior manager for a multi-national company to be self-employed. 

Caroll Taiji

Carol has over 30 years of small business experience running her business.  With Caroll's expertise in branding and marketing, she helped Community Futures brand our image but not only locally, but BC and Alberta as well. 

Dana Thorne

Dana is currently employed at Cowichan Tribes as the Associate Director for Housing.  In 2018, Dana was appointed to the Island Coastal Economic Trust Board by the Province of BC.  She holds a Masters Certificate in project management and is in the process of completing her MBA at Royal Roads University.  Her other volunteer duties include being the Treasurer for the Cowichan Eagles Youth Soccer and is Vice President of the Cowichan Women's Flag Football league.  

Business Development Committee

  • Ms. Moira Hauk, Chair
  • Mr. Tek Manhas
  • Mr. John Morris
  • Ms. Dana Thorne
  • Mr. Kevin Gamble

Finance & Audit Committee        

  • Mr. Michael Evans, Chair
  • Mr. Victor Gamble 
  • Ms. Julie Scurr

Executive Committee

  • Ms. Janna Jorgensen, Board Chair
  • Ms. Sarah Morden, Board Vice-Chair
  • Ms. Moira Hauk, Business Development Committee Chair
  • Mr. Michael Evans, Finance & Audit Committee Chair